Dumbo Double Dare 2015

This past weekend I ran in Disney’s Dumbo Double Dare. The race consists of a 10k on Saturday followed by a half marathon on Sunday. They are intense. For running the two races you receive an extra medal, the Dumbo Double dare medal. 

The 10k 

The 10k started bright and dark. I was in my corral before 5 am. The race starts at 5:30 am. The theme of the race was Villians. Of course Cruel and Maleficent stopped by to kick off the race.  I dressed up as Snow White rather than a Villian. 

in my corral waiting for the race to start

Once the race began you got to run through part of the streets of Anehiem, California Adventure, Disneyland, Downtown Disney, and finishing by Disneyland hotel. 

photo ops during the race

Finishing was the best part and I really liked the medal. It was a replica of the Magic Mirror. 

 

after crossing the finish
    

magic mirror 10k medal

It was a great race, but I had to rest up for the half the next day. 

The half marathon 

Not only was Disneyland celebrating their 60th but the Disneyland half was celebrating their 10th anniversary. 

I was a feeling good after the 10k so I felt confident running the half.  I dressed as Minnie Mouse for the half and taped up my knees. I have previous knee injuries so I find that KT tape helps a girl with two bad knees continue running all these races. 

  

  

Mickey and Minnie kicking off the race
    

I didn’t stop for pictures on the race. I did take this at mile 5. It is wonderful running in Disneyland. The whole city of Anaheim is there to support all the runners. From marching bands, to different culture organizations everyone is cheering you on. It’s amazing. 

 

at the finish
 
all the bling
 

 
The half marathon medal was special this year. It spun around in the center. It was awesome 

Well that’s another race in the books. So happy I had my friends and my mom to cheer me on. Thanks to all the people that volunteered, strangers that passed out wet sponges, all the organizations and classic car owners that were out cheering us on. No race compares to RunDisney. I’ve been running them for several years and I plan on running them for as long as I live. I hope this inspires you to run or volunteer for a race. Thanks for reading. Have a magical day. 

2 thoughts on “Dumbo Double Dare 2015

  1. I am so jealous of your new race bling! I know I would never have been ready to run those races this past weekend, but all weekend I was thinking, “I could be at Disneyland right now!” Congratulations, hopefully I will see you at a runDisney race in the future!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. Yes hopefully I will see you in the near future at one of the races. They are fun! And the best part you don’t have to be a hard core athlete. I’m not, but I take it one step at a time 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

