Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend Registration sign up – my heart attack this morning

It’s more than 7 months away, but pre-registration for the Star Wars Half Marathon for annual pass holders already occurred and I thought I was going to have a heart attack during sign up. I ran the inaugural half this year with friends. It was so much fun. I dressed up as R2D2, my friend as Chewy, and her fiancé as Luke.

I have a system that I have done for a year or two that has worked. I’m in front of my computer by 15 minutes before registration opens. All signed up through the annual pass page and just before it hits the registration time I hit refresh and boom I hit the page link and I’m in. All of that was going well this morning except when I went to the RunDisney page and hit the link to sign up for the Star Wars Half marathon and only abblank page would open. What the hell? I was seriously getting worried. Lucky I had my phone by me  and signed up through there. Which to tell you the truth is not the same. I hate typing on touch screen and double checking that I didn’t accidentally type something wrong, because I always manage to do that. In the end I successfully signed up for the Star Wars half marathon.

I was curious why my computer wasn’t working properly. So on a hunch I downloaded the latest version of Flash. Sure enough that was the problem. So next time I will make sure to have all my updates done before sign up.

If you are interested in signing up for any of the races for the Star Wars half marathon week, registration opens to the public on June 16th (12 pm eastern or 9 amPacific ). You can go to the RunDisney page for more information. Tip on registration, be sure to be at your computer 15 minutes before registration with the link open and hit refresh a minute before or on the actual sign up time.  Have your credit/debit card in front of you too. You don’t want to be searching for it last minute or digging through your purse. Trust me, it saves time.

Hope those who are thinking about doing a RunDisney race sign up for the Star Wars one. They have all levels from kids, 5k, 10k, to half. They are so much fun and the medals are pretty awesome. Thanks for reading and “may the force be with you” during sign up!

IMG_5324
The medal from the Star Wars half 2015
Leave a Reply

