I am a Bombshell – Bombshell Mera Cosplay

Well it’s that time a year where it’s one Comic Con after another. I had a great time at WonderCon last weekend as Mary Jane Watson, but one of my favorite cosplays I ever did was Bombshell Mera. If you aren’t familiar with it last year DC comics came out with several variant covers featuring their famous female heroines and villains as Bombshell beauties. The covers were done by Ant Lucia. He is absolutely amazing. I love his pin up art work. I bought a bunch of the variant comics as you can see.

IMG_2804
Bombshell Mera by Ant Lucia is my favorite!

IMG_2803 Like I said I love these variants and there are a bunch more so be sure to check out Ant Lucia’s work. Now onto how to put together the cosplay. Making Bomshell Mera for the most part is pretty simple if your sewing skills aren’t that great. The only thing that is time consuming is the trident. I bought insulation foam and two wooden rods a very thin one that will be inserted into the trident and the thicker wooden rod. They are about less than an inch. To make the trident first make a pattern. I folded a piece of parchment in half and drew half the trident on one side and cut it out. This will give you a symmetrical trident, for the most part. Now trace the pattern onto a piece of foam and cut it out. I used this small jig saw like cutter. I wish I had a band saw, because that would have made cutting it out a lot easier. Now I made a huge mistake of directly spray painting the insulation foam with metallic paint. DO NOT DO THIS!!! It basically causes a chemical reaction and the insulation foam melts. I was horrified that all the work I had done had been for nothing and I had to start all over again. Once I had cut out a second trident I decided to paper mache it. I added several layers and let it dry. Then to give it a smoother finish I used plaster of paris. Once the plaster dries be sure to sand it to create a smoother finish. I started with a low grade 60 sand paper and finished off with a 150. To attach the trident to the wooden handle use a drill bit to create a hole wide enough so that the smaller wooden rod can slip in. This took some elbow work to a make it big and deep enough. Once it’s in add some gorilla glue or super glue. Now time to spray paint. I used a metallic gold spray paint. Make nice short strokes and thin coats. Let dry. If I ever do the trident over I will probably use worbla instead. It’s expensive, but the final product is a lot smoother. IMG_2953 IMG_2954 IMG_2977 IMG_2978 IMG_2979  IMG_3039 IMG_3049 IMG_3055 IMG_3056 Now for the pieces of the costume. I found my hat and jewelry at Wal-Mart. The bracelets and anchor necklace were actually silver, but I spray painted them gold. Never be scarred to paint something, paint is a cosplayers best friend. As for the shoes I couldn’t find green wedges, so I bought white ones and painted them with Martha Stewart paint in ironically the color seaweed. I then tied a matching ribbon around the slingback part to create the ankle strap. IMG_2980 IMG_2984 For Mera’s seashell pin I used polymer clay and a seashell soap mold. It was perfect. Follow the directions on the package on baking time. Note: Be sure to use a pan that you do not use to cook food on as polymer clay releases chemicals that are toxic. I then hot glued a pin backing. IMG_2997 IMG_2998 The belt was created with a think vinyl ribbon. I cut an M using a stencil and hot glued it to the center. I added Velcro to the back of the ribbon and voila Mera’s belt. The bathing suit I bought at Modcloth It is so beautiful. The sarong was created by folding a piece of fabric into a triangle shape and sewing around the edges. I did want a bit more coverage. There you have it my Bombshell Mera cosplay. It’s great especially if your sewing skills are very basic. IMG_3736IMG_3729IMG_3737 Here are some pictures at the last Cons I wore this.

IMG_3781
Bombshell Mera and Bombshell Harley
IMG_4160
Mera and Aquaman having a battle.

Hope this gives you some ideas on creating a cosplay or you found a new artist’s work to admire. Which are some of your favorite comic book artists? Which Comic Cons are your favorite?

Leave a Reply

