A Shiny Costume (My Kaylee Cosplay)

I absolutely love Firefly, it was the best show that ended to soon. Kaylee of course was my favorite character, she is dorky, awkward, and pretty handy. So of course I could relate to her! I decided to cosplay as my favorite character from one of the greatest show.

First I needed to find the army green coveralls. It wasn’t easy to find, all the cover lls had metal front zipper on the breast pockets, so I decided to buy white ones and dye them. You’ll find that cosplayers use what they have and make them into what they need. A little bit of fabric dye will fix it. I found some mens coveralls in a military supply store.

IMG_4015

I bought three bottles of RIT dye dark green, golden yellow, and dark brown. You’ll need all three to mix and create the army green color for Kaylee’s coveralls. I used the formal for Rit’s moss green. I used the bucket method rather than dying in the washing machine. Just follow the instructions on the site and on the bottle. I let my soak in the dye for about 45 minutes. The zipper didn’t dye so I used army green fabric paint and painted it green,

IMG_3106

In the end it turned out pretty well!

IMG_3120

Now for some alterations and sewing on the patches! I hemmed the pants and cut the sleeves off. Then I sewed the patches. I got the teddy bear patch at the Browncoats society booth at WonderCon. The heart and flower patch I got at JoAnn’s fabric store. The teddy bear and flower patches go on the left side and the heart patch on the right side, Β just for proper reference.

IMG_4008

The shirt I found at Sears and dyed pink using Rit’s petal pink. I honestly never shop at Sears, but my mom was in there looking for some towels so I thought I would browse around in case I could find a floral shirt and I did. Here is the final product.

IMG_4017

IMG_4254

IMG_4264

Had great time at Comikaze and even found some of the rest of the crew of Serenity! Hope this inspires you to create your own Shiny cosplay.

7 thoughts on “A Shiny Costume (My Kaylee Cosplay)

  1. Great result indeed. I have been looking for a good color mix for Olive Drab or Army Green for some time now and even tried what RIT suggested for OD to mix 2 parts Dark Green and 1 part Dark brown but it ended up being too dark and almost brown-ish.

    I am planning to apply my own custom mix next time, 1 part Dark Green, 1 part Golden Yellow and 1/2 Part Taupe. Hoping this would be much closer to the OD I’m after…what do you think? πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I think that should be a great option. It will be on the lighter side but if you want it darker I found just let the material soak longer. I used the dark green, golden yellow, and dark brown. I hope you get the color just right πŸ™‚

      And yes Firefly ended too soon. Kaylee was my favorite too.

      Like

      1. Thanks πŸ™‚ So was your original item in white made of 100% cotton or cotton mix? I also noticed materials in nylon/cotton or rayon/cotton mix dye slightly differently than all-cotton ones.

        The girl on the last photo above wears the army green skirt, it looks from the photo your and her clothes matched in color perfectly, like they were made from the same piece of cloth.

        Keep up the great work!

        Cheers!

        Like

    1. Thanks πŸ™‚
      I’ve been dyeing my wardrobe items for some time now…about dozen or so, mostly T-shirts, jeans, all-cotton and 50/50 nylon/cotton army uniforms. If you’re not careful and forget a step or two, you definitely end up with some funky results. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

