Avengers Assemble to run!

For the innagural Avengers Half marathon last year I decided to run as Captain America. I had a blue running tank from Forever 21 and a blue sparkle skirt from Sparkle Athletics. All I needed to do was make a red and white waist cincher and sew on a white star.

I cut out a star using a star template and sewed it on by hand, trying to use an embroidery looking stitch.

As for the waist cincher, I didn’t have a pattern so I basically cut out long strips of white and red fabric. I cut out 5 pieces of white fabric and 4 pieces of red. Each piece was about 8.5 inches long and 5 inches wide. Now the bad thing was that I didn’t cut the pieces at an angle to create a waist definition. I had to improvise by cutting the last two end pieces at an angle to create the waist definition. I highly recommend if you are going to create a waist cincher use a pattern as a guide. I used velcro and sewed two snaps on the cincher, it was the easiest thing to do when you’re a beginner sewer.

IMG_4335

IMG_4336

Here is the final look. The bow I got at a geek craft fair, I unfortunately can not remember the vendor. Any red, white, and blue ribbons will work or you can use a Captain America helmet.

IMG_4407

IMG_4337

IMG_6828
During the race! Black Widow and I, two tough red heads!

The race was great. Lots of characters were out from Thor,  Hawkeye, Captain America, and Black Widow. The only down side of the race it was so windy, all the mile markers were being blown down and at one point I was running with my eyes closed on a dusty trail. I honestly wish I had decided to run with Captain’s shield, that  would have been very helpful against the blustery winds. All in all though I had a great time.  The medal was absolutely gorgeous and I was thrilled to add it to my collection. I look forward to running it again this year!

IMG_4425
Avengers half medal – Front
IMG_3132
Avengers half medal – back
2 thoughts on “Avengers Assemble to run!

Leave a Reply

