Princess Half Marathon 2015

I recently ran the Princess Half Marathon it was an amazing experience. I had done many Disneyland races, but this was my first Disney World race and my 5th half marathon in general.  It was my first Disney World half and the first time I earned a Coast to Coast medal. I ran the Star Wars half in January and finishing the Princess half qualified me for the Coast to Coast medal. Since the race was a Frozen theme I decided to dress up as Anna. IMG_5424 IMG_6713 I was so paranoid that I would be late I showed up at 2:30 am. I heard that traffic can be bad, but there wasn’t any at that time. They had a dj playing and character photo opportunities before the race, which was cool. Then it was time to march to your corrals, unlike Disneyland where the corrals are a 5 minute walk from the parking lot Disney World seems to want you to do a 5k warm up. I had to walk about 30 minuets to get to my corral I. Since I was in the middle of the pack (corrals go all the way to P) I didn’t have to wait to long before I got to run. IMG_6731 The temperature for the race was a perfect 55 degrees , a bit chilly but overall great. At one point along the route there was mist and fog on the golf field. It was a beautiful sight. The few down sides to the course were that you didn’t run in the parks much, mostly the back roads of the parks parking lot and the golf course. There were some characters out, but unlike Disneyland that has the community out supporting you while you run the streets of Anaheim you didn’t have that here.  Though the course itself was a smooth course, which made running very easy. There were three steep inclines, but other than that it was the perfect running course. If you just wanted to run and not stop for pictures it would have been easy to get a new PR. I did stop for a few pictures along the way. Here are a few of them. IMG_6734

IMG_6738
A Jolly Holiday
IMG_6736
Kristoff, Anna, and Elsa
IMG_6821
The Princess Half medal and the Coast to Coast medal

I didn’t get a new PR but I did have a decent time at 2:51 considering I stopped for pictures,  it wasn’t too shabby. After the race I decided to visit the Parks! I got lots of compliments on my outfit and my Coast to Coast medal. IMG_6746

IMG_6773
Norway -Epcot

IMG_6769 IMG_6794

IMG_6795
Got to run to my next race

Overall I had an amazing race! I definitely plan on running more Disney World races and hopefully earn more Coast to Coast medals. My next race isn’t for a few month. I’ll be running in Expedition Everest, now to decide what I will dress up for that!!!

2 thoughts on “Princess Half Marathon 2015

    1. Oh I have a lot of energy when it comes to Disney. I also had only 3 hours sleep because I was so excited about the race. I think I was just going off a runners high the hours that followed the race. Also diet rockerstar helps lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

